Clinical Note Extraction

Hi,

I'm a beginner to Prodigy and I have recently trained a NER model, it is definite a great tool!

But I do have several questions:

I'm working on clinical note mining to extract information (medication, dosage, medical condition, medical procedure, medical device, hemodynamic measurements). It works well so far and gives a decent f-score. To further improve and refine the model, I would like to extract additional information: vessels which have a condition, receive a procedure, or treated/diagnosed by a device. And here are some examples:

'thrombotic occlusion at the LIMA/LAD anastomosis' -> thrombotic occlusion is a medical condition, and LIMA and LAD are the vessels having the condition
'A stent was inserted into LAD' -> stent is a device, and LAD is the vessel being treated with stent
'The LAD and diagonal were revascularized with balloon angioplasty and stent' -> balloon angioplasty is procedure and stent is a device, LAD and diagonal are the vessels receiving the procedure and the device

Question 1: In order to add vessel information, should I add another entity 'vessel' and use dependency parser to extract the relation with entities like procedure, condition and device? Or should I highlight the entity spans including vessel like 'thrombotic occlusion at the LIMA/LAD ' and extract common vessel names after that?

Question 2: What might be the best way to identify negations in the notes like 'Heart transplant was delayed' or 'No bleeding or hematoma'?

Question 3: There are terms that can fall in to both entities, and I'm wondering what I should do to avoid the confusion. For example:
balloon, ballooned, angioplasty, balloon angioplasty -> balloon is a device, angioplasty is a procedure using balloon, then which entity should I assign ballooned and balloon angioplasty?

Thanks in advance!

Welcome to the forum @wjin :wave:

It's great to hear you like using Prodigy:)