Uploading a dataset of images

Hi,

I’m new to prodigy. Is there any way to upload a dataset of images to the database through python? I can see that it is possible to do it through the terminal, but have not found any examples of uploading images through python.

Hi and welcome! :slightly_smiling_face:

What do you mean by “uploading images”, and what are you trying to do? If you just want to annotate images, there’s no need to upload anything – you can directly pass in a directory of images as the source argument on the command line, and they’ll be streamed in for annotation. As you annotate them, the annotations will be stored in the database.

If you already have image annotations and want to import them to a Prodigy dataset, you can also do that. Just make sure that the examples are formatted in Prodigy’s JSON format. You can find examples of this in the “Annotation task formats” section of your PRODIGY_README.html. You can then either use the db-in command on the command line, or connect to the database in Python:

from prodigy.components.db import connect
db = connect()
db.add_dataset("new_dataset")  # create a new dataset
db.add_examples(some_new_examples, ["new_dataset"])  # add examples to the dataset

You can also find more details on the available database methods in the “DB” section in the Readme.

Thanks for the response!

In our case the easiest thing would be to upload the images straight from python. Even though, I have read the documentation I am still confused in how to convert pictures to the correct format for the upload.

The example code below returns for example the error:

TypeError: string indices must be integers

Example code:

from prodigy.components.db import connect
import json
import base64
import os
import numpy as np

def extract_pic(path):
    with open(path, 'rb') as f:
        img = f.read()
    encrypted = base64.encodebytes(img).decode("utf-8")
    d = {'image': encrypted, 'label': str(np.random.randint(0, 2))}