More annotations worsen the F-score?

Hey explosionists,

I'm working on a project to create a dataset and train a model to recognise german industry data (manufacturing-steps, materials, etc.) as named entities. The data is served by one company and the 13 labels are custom for their products.
In short my workflow so far was:

1. ner.manual: 200 examples
  2. ner.correct: 600 examples
  3. ner.teach: 1200 examples
  4. ner.teach: 800 examples with the labels that occur most rarely

I started training a blank:de model and trained the model after each annotation step to monitor the metrics - always with the model of the previous training-step as input.
The F-Score went from 84 % in step 1 to 94 % to 91 % to 82 % after step 4. Also the metrics for the labels seem a bit erratic to me. The train-curve always increased except after step 2.

My Question: Am I doing something fundamentally wrong or do I just have to keep annotating e. g. by using ner.correct?

I really love working with Prodigy and would be extremly happy for any kind of advice.
Thanks in advance!

:sweat_smile: Love this, haven't heard that one before!

This is definitely interesting! When you trained from the binary annotations in step 3 and 4, did you make sure to set the --binary flag on prodigy train to make sure that they're interpreted as binary yes/no answers and the rejects are taken into account? Also, did you train on the total 2000 binary annotations (1200 + 800) or on the 1200 first and then on the 800? The latter could be problematic because if you're only updating with rare labels, the model might overfit on the new data.

1 Like

Uhh I didn't set the binary flag on :grimacing:

I always trained with all annotations as I keep them in one dataset, so 2800 examples.