Information extraction from legislative text - Doubts and questions

Hi everybody,

My team and I are currently working on a domain-specific project and I am writing to ask for your advice on how to proceed, since I am relatively new to NLP and spacy.

So far I have used Spacy and Prodigy to perform NER tasks on a text corpus of legislative documents. The basic idea was to identify and extract different kinds of entities that are mentioned in our corpus. I have been able to annotate documents in various ways, to import custom word vectors to spacy and to pre-train tok2vec weights to boost model performance. So far so good.

However, recently I have been asked by my team to investigate whether we could add a new element to the analysis. More specifically we want to understand the extent to which the entities are involved in 2 different kinds of situations: we want to highlight either "delegation" (ie, when an entity is given authority to do something) or "constraint" (ie, when an entity is given limits to her prerogatives and/or is required to do something) situations.

As a starting point, we looked at the texts and identified a number of key elements (mostly verbs), we grouped those into 'families', and we came up with a sort of grid that helps identify each situation depending on how the elements are used. For example a permissive modal verb often indicates a "delegation" situation ("the ENTITY may designate.."), but when the same modal verb is used in negative form it indicates a "constraint" (the ENTITY may not.. do this or that).

The point is I am a bit lost now on how to proceed as far as the choice of the appropriate model goes.

At first I thought that something along the lines of the "relation extraction" method would be the best fit for our needs.