HTML to jsonl and NER task workflow

Hello,

I’m a spacy+prodigy newbie and trying to get my head around some basic concepts, as well as to apply some of the answers here to my current project. This support forum was a great help so far, but I would appreciate a little boost/correction, because I’m under the impression that I might overcomplicate things.

My task is very similar to the one discussed here (NER document Labeling).

TLDR: Company imprint HTML sites as input -> NER for entities like companyname, address, phone and so on

What (I think) I know, so please correct me:

• For this specific problem, using a blanc model is advised (this one helped me a lot, I need it for German, there it is explained for a Russian example: Trying to teach NER from blank model for Russian language).

• I have no annotated training data as a base, but I can use prodigy with ner.manual, to generate one. Afterwards I use this annotation data to batch-train and save the model. Then, I can use this model, to use ner.teach (maybe constrained on only one of my labels, right?) to expand my training data a bit faster, because I only have to perform binary decisions.

• Prodigy expects jsonl as an input format. As mentioned in the cited post, I could plug in each line (separated by ‘\n’) as a separated entry and use a form like {“text”: " XXXXXXX ", “meta”: {“source” : “company1.txt”}}

What remains rather unclear to me:

• I can clean the html file in a way, that several interesting paragraphs remain. For the whole document imagine something like:
\n
Some unimportant stuff\n
Stuff\n
\n
\n
\n
Companyname\n
Street No. 3\n
12345 City\n
\n
\n
Stuff\n
\n
\n
Phone Number:\
0123 012654
\n

Because of this structure, I would guess it is more useful to feed these “information blocks” to the text property of the jsonl file instead of every single line. So one entry (that will be presented to me in prodigy during manual annotation) might be:

“Companyname\nStreet\n1234 City”