JSONL with annotation for NET multi-tag for newbies

Hi.
I am currently using Doccano for NER multi-label annotation. I was impressed with Prodigy's functionality and considering buying it. I watched the NER video and understood the basic concept but did not follow many details because I'm new to Python & Prodigy.

Can you please help me with a very simple guide with easy steps without professional and complicated terminology on how do I import my existing JSONL file with dataset + my annotations in JSONL file format exported from Doccano? Example of my JSONL:

{"id" : 1613, "data": "DUNKIN 351099 Q35 10/24 PURCHASE FEASTERVILLE PA DEBIT CARD *6555", "label": [[0, 6, "COMPANYNAME"], [18, 22, "DATE"]]}

A very simplified step-by-step guide as for a child, not overloaded with lots of text, information and terminology would be much appreciated. It's easier to learn something new when you can succeed with simple tasks. Manuals are often not self-contained and assume knowledge of programming languages, technology, and terminology.

I have found this conversation, but it didn't help.
Cant load pre-annotated ner jsonl - Prodigy Support

Hope for your help,
Best, D

Hi @bbkudk , welcome to Prodigy!

Similar to Doccano, Prodigy also allows JSONL as input. From your example, it seems that following the ner format will be the simplest. So assuming you have this:

: 1613, "data": "DUNKIN 351099 Q35 10/24 PURCHASE FEASTERVILLE PA DEBIT CARD *6555", "label": [[0, 6, "COMPANYNAME"], [18, 22, "DATE"]]}

With the following fields:

• data: DUNKIN 351099 Q35 10/24 PURCHASE FEASTERVILLE PA DEBIT CARD *6555
  • spans: An entity COMPANYNAME that starts from character 0 and ends at 6, and a DATE entity that starts from character 18 and ends at 22.

(I'm not quite sure what 1613 means, for now I'll assume its an index and I'll deem it irrelevant)

1. What you need to do now is rearrange your data into its corresponding Prodigy task format:
{