Dynamically defining subset of labels to use in SpanCat

Hi! I'm trying to figure out how to wrap prodigy to my workflow.

Basically, I'm interested in detecting "concerns" from a predefined list of 50 or so based on a conversation inspired by a reddit post, usually made by a college student. I've been working on variations of this task for around 6 months now.

However, because the concern list is quite long, that leads to a couple issues when using prodigy.

1. For LLM-powered span detection, the possible labels take up the whole screen. I can move the window to the side, but it seems like a hacky workaround and isn't very encouraged. I know the default advice is break it up into two+ annotation tasks, but that's a little much for me because I have categories, but they're kinda loosely defined (mental health, financial, etc..) so it's not very useful when doing span categorization, as the categories are too broad.

2. When using GPT 3.5/4, I generally get good results. However, the model often fails to have reasonable definitions of the concerns, which I have worked around by providing handwritten definitions (Spacy.TextCat.v3). This ends up working well, but due to having 50 concerns, only performs well on GPT-4-1106-preview (and okay) on GPT-4. However, I know there's a lot of context being dropped for the definitions, and I don't want to overload the model. in an ideal world, it should only have the most relevant definitions so it can solidly reason about if a concern is present in the conversation or not.

To remedy this, I am trying to add an intermediate detection step, where instead of using all 50 labels for my annotation task, I call a weaker model like 3.5-turbo to get the 12? most likely concerns based on the conversation. Then, I can use these labels dynamically for the annotation task, which allows me to give longer, more precise definitions, and the model a lot more space to reason with, due to not overflowing the context limit.