training data format for multiclass textcat

Hello,

I am very new to spacy and i am trying to learn how to train a multiclass categoriser with 17 labels so that each text is assigned only one label. I have the data in csv and also have onehot encoded it, but i am struggling to see what format spacy will accept it in. I think it needs to be in json format that is then coverted to the spacy .doc format, but i can;t see any simple examples or tutorials showing how this is done. I also have prodigy from a while back doing NER work. I tried prodigy as i think it can accept text and cats in a siple text file, but again, i can;t seem to find a simple example of how this is achieved. I see many examples online where there are data with text and label in simple format, but there seems to be a lack of information on the process of getting this into spacy. Any help is hugely appreciated!

Hi @n8te!

Thanks for your question and welcome to the Prodigy community :wave:

Are you interested in only training in spaCy or Prodigy? It seems you're asking for both so I'll try to provide both answers.

First for spaCy: If you're only interested in spaCy, here's an example of a standard format (see spaCy tests):

TRAIN_DATA_MULTI_LABEL = [
    ("I'm angry and confused", {"cats": {"ANGRY": 1.0, "CONFUSED": 1.0, "HAPPY": 0.0}}),
    ("I'm confused but happy", {"cats": {"ANGRY": 0.0, "CONFUSED": 1.0, "HAPPY": 1.0}}),
]

Here are more details from spaCy on the details for setting up training.

The rest of my response will assume the question is for Prodigy as this forum is for Prodigy.

If you're interested in format to train in Prodigy, we have several examples in Prodigy Support that can help:

And if you're doing binary classification, sometimes it can be confusing because some examples show textcat_multilabel. Here's a post where we try to convert binary data so that you can use textcat training instead: