Taking a Computer Vision Approach (leveraging image.manual) to build a custom NER model on PDFs

Hi! I am very new to Prodi.gy and am still learning how to use the tool.

I would like to build a custom NER pipeline on pdf electric bill documents, and I saw Ines's comment, on one of the post asking a similar question, about formulating this task into a CV problem:

An alternative approach that I've been seeing more often is framing the whole problem differently and as a computer vision task. This seems to be especially effective if the visual strucutre of the documents holds a lot of important clues, like in an invoice. So the model would then predict where the recipient or total amount is, and in the next step, you'd use OCR to convert the contents of the bounding box to text. This approach is more involved, though, and potentially overkill for this specificl use case.

Essentially, you would leverage image.manual and draw bounding boxes on the features you would like to extract, then perform OCR to recognize the texts. I am quite fascinated by this approach actually, given that I am working on documents like electric bills to which the visual structure/layout conveys a lot of information for the NER task. I have a few questions to clarify before moving forward:

• Will I have to convert the PDFs into images locally before performing annotations? Currently, Prodi.gy doesn't accept PDFs right?
  • What is the output going to be like from this CV-powered NER pipeline? What does it return? I am just trying to understand how I could perform OCR based on the results given.
  • How can I automate the labeling process for the task? There might be features that occur multiple times within a document, how could I auto-tag all of them?

Thank you! Explosion is awesome :wink:

Hi Jetson, here are the answers to your questions: