SpanCat Training Error on Custom Preprocessed Dataset

Hi :raised_hand:

I'm new to machine learning and have been working with a dataset that I annotated using Prodigy. I trained a model using the CLI model training from Prodigy and everything ran smoothly.

However, I recently attempted to preprocess the dataset by applying some additional steps that altered the data. While there were no issues saving the preprocessed data to the Prodigy database, I encountered errors when trying to train the model using the following command:

python -m prodigy train ./training/spancat/test --spancat test --eval-split 0.25

The error message I received was:

:warning: Aborting and saving the final best model. Encountered exception:
ValueError('all sequence lengths must be >= 0')

I've attached links to the annotated and preprocessed dataset samples for reference. I'm hoping to get some advice on how to resolve these errors and improve the performance of my model with the preprocessed data.

Any insights or guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance for your help!

Annotated data: Running normally · GitHub
Preprocessed data: Preproccesing not working on prodigy model training cli · GitHub

hi @daffahilmyf!

Thanks for your question and welcome to the Prodigy community :wave:

Thanks as well for providing your examples. This helped a lot!

I noticed that in your updated file it looks like you stemmed and removed stop words. Is this correct?

• Original (worked): "text": "In order to fulfil the requirements of some railways, it should be possible to provide an alternative means of link assurance indication."
  • New (didn't work): "text": "in order fulfil requir some railway possibl provid altern mean link assur indic"

Can you explain more on why the pre-processing is needed?

There's no need to do pre-processing like this and we generally recommend against doing it. For example, this is a good post on the background on stop words:

1 Like