pretrain weights for transfer learning

I am new to prodigy. I have an NER task of which I have used ner.manual to provide some initial labels. In order to test the prospect I want to use ner.train with pretrained weights. I tried using Scibert provided weights and another fine tuned weights I have of NER built on Scibert....Both failed with the message:

srsly.msgpack.exceptions.ExtraData: unpack(b) received extra data.

So, my question is, how can I use some of these pretrained weights with prodigy since Scibert is also compliant with Scispacy I expected its weights should have worked.

How can I get pretrained weights for biomedical NER that can work with prodigy?

Thank you

Hi! The prodigy train command is a thin wrapper around spaCy and expects pretrained weights generated with spacy pretrain: https://spacy.io/api/cli/#pretrain

If you want to train a model using different weights, transformers etc., you can export your annotations using db-out and then train your model outside of Prodigy, using whichever library you want to use.

(The upcoming v3 of spaCy will feature support for custom pretrained embeddings and transformer-based pipelines out-of-the-box, so we'll probably be able to support this in Prodigy out-of-the-box as well.)

Thank you for the clarification. The idea is to train amodel within Prodigy to speed up my annotation. I am generating data to train model for cusotom NERs. I will try and pretain with a Spacy model.

However, I still want to clarify as only 'en_vectors_web_lg' seem to work for this prodigy training with the example pretrained weights in your video.

Which other spacy models could work? I have tried ' en_trf_bertbaseuncased_lg', which is also a spacy model It generated an error amout get method. Or is it that in order to have a suitable tok2vec weights I will use this as the input vectors model into spacy pretrain alongside my data?