prefer_high_scores(stream) not prioritising the bootstrapped texts during cold start

Hello,

I am working on single-label multi-class text classification. As I don't want to annotate the very same labels again and again (and I am a newb so I can't write a stream filtering func for both task hash and keys either), I code each of my labels separately, into separate dbs (as recommended) that I later plan to merge together.

Since I want to gather the relevant positive examples as fast as possible, I use prefer_high_scores(predict(stream)). The expected behaviour: the first examples to annotate would be a series with high score and/or scored 0.5 because of the pre-defined patterns I have used for bootsrapping. Instead, the predicted high score (0.7) examples do come first, but the others rated by the patterns are slowly trickling down in each session.

Did I somehow manage to brake my stream?

I use these two overriding functions:

# highlight spans passed as _spans with the texts
def overwrite_spans(stream):
    for eg in stream:
        eg["spans"] = eg["_spans"]
        yield eg

#show each text only once
def filter_stream(stream):
        seen = set()
        for eg in stream:
            # Get the hash idenfitying the original input, e.g. the text
            input_hash = eg["_input_hash"]
            if input_hash not in seen:
                yield eg
            seen.add(input_hash)

stream = prefer_high_scores(predict(stream))
stream = filter_stream(stream)
stream = overwrite_spans(stream)

I have noticed that after collecting 650 examples and restarting the textcat.teach, prefer_high_scores(predict(stream)) works as expected.

Hi again,

so after another week of experimenting, I still cannot get the expected/desired behaviour, namely, having the prefer_high_scores sorter to present cases identified by pattern matcher before those with scores around 0.