Newbie working with historical languages

I have a couple of questions concerning the possibilities of the implementation of prodigy in our workflow.

I am very new to the NLP world. And also new to Python. So my first question is if I can use prodigy nonetheless productively or would I have to have a stronger background in NLP programming (spaCy …)?

Secondly, we are working with historical cooking recipes (14th/15th century) in Early New High German, Middle French and Latin. And our task would be the (semi-)automatic recognition of ingredients and tools. Is this a possible usecase for prodigy? I am talking about 10.000 individual cooking recipes that need annotation. We are using TEI/XML as an end product.

Thanks a lot for you experience and opinions!

Interesting use-case!

I would suggest that you should probably set aside machine learning-based approaches for your task. That’s what otherwise would introduce a lot of complexity, and I don’t think it’s so well motivated for your problem. There’s a finite supply of texts that you’ll be working with — it’s not like they’re making more of them, after all. This means that a model won’t have much utility outside of the task of getting your labelling done. I also think it’ll be really hard to get an accurate model, because you won’t be able to leverage existing resources.

I think the best semi-automatic approach is probably the pattern matcher. You can write patterns based on token attributes, and use these to semi-automatically label the data. I think that’s a pretty good fit for your problem, and when you communicate the results, you can show exactly which patterns were used, so the process is much more transparent.