ner.train number of examples

Hello,

I’m fairly new to spacy, and prodigy. I have an NER model I’ve bootstrapped with patterns and a a round or two of ner.teach.

When I finished with ner.teach Prodigy lists that I have around 2185 “Total” under progress. I assume this means I have 2185 annotations that have been marked accept or reject by me.

Yet, when I run batch-train it only lists the following stats and I’m having trouble understanding why it seems all my annotations aren’t being used to train the model.

Using 20% of accept/reject examples (69) for evaluation
Using 100% of remaining examples (292) for training
Dropout: 0.2  Batch size: 8  Iterations: 10

BEFORE     0.000
Correct    0
Incorrect  137
Entities   468
Unknown    0

Yes, that's how it should be. The "total" is the total number of annotations in your dataset – it should also match the number of lines that are exported when you run the db-out command.

The training recipes will exclude the examples you've marked as "ignore", but I don't think that's significant here (unless most of your annotations were ignored, which seems unlikely?)

Did your annotations include many entities on the same text? Since ner.teach is binary, each annotation decision you make is its own example – but before training, Prodigy will merge all span annotations on the same input into one training example. You can check this by re-running the command with the environment variable PRODIGY_LOGGING=basic. This should output a log statement like "MODEL: Merging entity spans of X examples". 361 vs. ~2000+ still seems a little high, though.

If this isn't the explanation, is there anything else in the log that potentially looks suspicious? And can you double-check that the dataset you're using in ner.batch-train is the correct one and actually exports 2185 annotations?

1 Like

Great,