ner.openai.correct Time out issue

Hello, I am very new to prodigy. I am getting issues using the ner.openai.correct service. It works for a while and then annoyingly can get up to 200 approved items and then times out with an error. Any thoughts or suggestions?

= Task exception was never retrieved

future: <Task finished name='Task-86' coro=<RequestResponseCycle.run_asgi() done, defined at /home/paul/anaconda3/envs/prodigy-dev-2/lib/python3.8/site-packages/uvicorn/protocols/http/h11_impl.py:402> exception=ReadTimeout(ReadTimeoutError("HTTPSConnectionPool(host='api.openai.com', port=443): Read timed out. (read timeout=20)"))>

Traceback (most recent call last):

Hi Paul!

Just from a glance, that looks like a timeout from OpenAI. I've seen these happen before and it's usually not something that we can control. OpenAI can get big bursts of traffic, which also means that the latency can go all over the place on their side ... even to the extend that it causes a timeout once in while to an average user. Our code already has a retry mechanic in place, but that's not always enough.

Just to check, is there a specific moment where this issue pops up consistently? Or is it somewhat random?

An alternative for now might be to use ner.openai.fetch instead. This recipe allows you to fetch examples upfront, and you can always resume a previous run via the --resume flag. These results can then be used in a ner.manual recipe without having to worry about the OpenAI connection.

Would this remedy the situation for now? I could dive into our code and see if we might be able to increase the wait time in our retry-mechanic, but I fear that this might only remedy a small part of the problem.