Misspelled named entity extraction

I am wondering whether Prodigy can handle misspelled entities. For example, for drug names extraction from medical notes, some drug names could be misspelled and when annotating with ner.teach recipe, will Prodigy suggest misspelled tokens too?

I have a large list of drug names which I am interested in extracting from texts, at the moment, I’m trying both options, with PhraseMatcher and ner.teach and her.batch-train option (I’m very new to spaCy and Prodigy, so still learning thus may no be aware of better solutions). PhraseMatcher works just fine: provided my list of drug names, it finds them all in texts. With ner.teach/btach-train I’m running into ‘catastrophic forgetting’ problem and trying to sort it out.

I am happy to keep working with PhraseMatcher, however it misses the misspelled entities. I thought about adding edit distance on top of PhraseMatcher to account for misspelled ones, but not sure how to implement effectively.

Any suggestions how to extract misspelled entities please?

The ner.teach recipe will retrieve all possible analyses of the text from the model, and will then ask you for feedback on the ones with a prediction closest to 0.5. So generally speaking, ner.teach will suggest whatever the model predicts that fits within these constraints. By default, the NER model uses the prefix (first character) and suffix (last 3 characters) attributes as part of its features, so depending on the type of spelling errors, it might be able to generalise pretty well here.

The difficulty here is that an approach like this would become a lot more complex if you also need to deal with multi-word entities. If you're only looking at single tokens, you could come up with a performant solution – but once you need to look at all possible spans and combinations of subsequent tokens, this becomes really tricky. That's also one of the reasons why statistical named entity recognition is often a better fit for problems like this.