Merging annotations from different datasets

As a newb, I annotated 3 datasets for three different entities, street, zip and state. The datasets have shared text. I would like to now merge them so they can learn from the other labels. Is there an easy way to go about this?

Does ner.teach and ner.match provide samples from the db and from the input jsonl file?
How can I make it so only samples from the db are given to annotate (with a new entity)?

2 Likes

Each example that comes in is assigned an _input_hash – for text-based tasks, that hash is generated from the "text" property. So you can easily check whether annotations refer to the same input text by comparing their input hashes, and then merging their "spans".

The NER model comes with a helper function merge_spans that should do exactly that – however, it's currently only used internally during updating and we haven't really tested its isolated usage yet. But you can try the following:

from prodigy.components.db import connect
from prodigy.models.ner import merge_spans

db = connect()  # connect to the DB using the prodigy.json settings
datasets = ['dataset_one', 'dataset_two', 'dataset_three']
examples = []
for dataset in datasets:
    examples += db.get_dataset(dataset)  # get examples from the database

merged_examples = merge_spans(examples)

The merged_examples should now include the examples with spans merged if the input is identical. You can then inspect the list, save it out to a file, or even add it back to the database. To keep things clean, you probably also want to rehash the examples and assign new input and task hashes based on the new properties.

from prodigy import set_hashes

merged_dataset = [set_hashes(eg, overwrite=True) for eg in merged_dataset]
db.add_dataset('merged_dataset')
db.add_examples(mergex_examples, datasets=['merged_dataset'])