KeyError: 'text' when using ner.batch-train

Hi,
I've used spaCy before, but I'm fairly new to Prodigy. So far I managed to find all answers on this page and I've seen this topic:

which seems to discuss a similar problem: when I run ner.batch-train I get the following error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/anaconda3/lib/python3.6/runpy.py", line 193, in _run_module_as_main
"main", mod_spec)
File "/anaconda3/lib/python3.6/runpy.py", line 85, in _run_code
exec(code, run_globals)
File "/anaconda3/lib/python3.6/site-packages/prodigy/main.py", line 259, in
controller = recipe(args, use_plac=True)
File "cython_src/prodigy/core.pyx", line 253, in prodigy.core.recipe.recipe_decorator.recipe_proxy
File "/anaconda3/lib/python3.6/site-packages/plac_core.py", line 328, in call
cmd, result = parser.consume(arglist)
File "/anaconda3/lib/python3.6/site-packages/plac_core.py", line 207, in consume
return cmd, self.func(
(args + varargs + extraopts), **kwargs)
File "/anaconda3/lib/python3.6/site-packages/prodigy/recipes/ner.py", line 385, in batch_train
examples = merge_spans(DB.get_dataset(dataset))
File "cython_src/prodigy/models/ner.pyx", line 37, in prodigy.models.ner.merge_spans
KeyError: 'text'

I checked the training.jsonl file and found two occurrences of empty spans. I guess that's what's causing the trouble? How do I fix that? I have run a couple of rounds of ner.teach and ner.batch-train with no problem until now. I didn't add the spans myself. If it helps, the spans are empty for tokens "\r" and "\n".

Hi! Empty spans should be fine, because this is a totally valid annotation – a text can just not have any entity spans. In your case, it looks like it comes across an example with no "text", which is very strange :thinking: If you export your dataset using db-out, is there any example that doesn’t have a top-level "text" property?