How to evaluate the model accuracy with test data (not part of training)

Dear Prodigy community,
Greetings! Beginner here... I have doing a NER on text data. Done the annotations in Prodigy and able to train in Prodigy and Spacy as well. I have used following commands.
First convert to Spacy format and Spacy Train.

prodigy data-to-spacy ./spacy_model --ner ner_final --eval-split 0.2
python3 -m spacy train  spacy_model/config.cfg --output spacy_model/training/ --paths.train spacy_model/train.spacy --paths.dev spacy_model/dev.spacy

Fine. Mode created.Then model accuracy on the test data (which 20 %split on train data)

python3 -m spacy benchmark accuracy ./spacy_model/training/model-best spacy_model/dev.spacy --output metrics.json
  1. Now, i have created another annotated dataset evaluation_dataset_gold in the database. Want to evaluate against this the Spacy model without split any split. How to do this ?

The convert command can be used ? Any thoughts highly useful. :innocent: Thanks a lot.

Cheers!
Chandra /101sg

hi @e101sg!

Thanks for your message.

If I understand correctly, you're just looking to use your evaluation_dataset_gold as your evaluation dataset, right?

If so, you can use the eval: prefix for datasets in your data-to-spacy as opposed to using --eval-split like:

prodigy data-to-spacy ./spacy_model --ner ner_final,eval:evaluation_dataset_gold

When you do this, your spacy_model/dev.spacy will just be your evaluation_dataset_gold as opposed to a random 20% partition of your ner_final. Then you can use the exact same spacy train or spacy benchmark commands like you previously did as the dev.spacy is now your dedicated hold out dataset as opposed to a random partition from your training data.

This is mentioned a bit in the docs: