Generic or specific entities and multilabel text categorization

Hi there!

I am new to Prodigy and Spacy and I am amazed about the possibilities that I see so far. Great work!
I am starting a new project which analyze R&I projects. I would like to extract the relevant entities and label the project with the subjects related but I have several questions before organizing the work:

• Do I start by labeling generic entities for every field of R&I and, once I have those generic entities, I identify more specific entities from the generic ones (I have seen in the docs that easier to train the models if you are more generic)?

• In order to label the documents with the subjects of research, would it be useful to find the category at the paragraph level? I have used LDA for Topic Modelling but I would like to improve the results and I don’t know if text categorization could be used for that.

Thanks!

Hi Maria,

Glad to hear the tools look promising! You’re definitely asking good questions, but unfortunately it’s hard to give you very good answers.

Many of these decisions are basically about making a trade-off between how quickly things can be annotated, how directly the model’s target output would answer your application’s requirements, and how accurately the model can reproduce its target output. Finding the best balance between these trade-offs for a specific problem is “fact intensive” (to borrow a term from the legal industry).