Combining ner.teach with patterns file and manual correction of spans

Hi there

Prodigy newbie here after spending much time creating training data using code and labelling functions.

I'm using ner.teach along with a patterns file to annotate text for a new NER model. This is working pretty well, but I'd really like to correct some of the partial spans suggested by Prodigy. For example, Prodigy suggests a partial span for a URL - I'd like to be able to change that span boundary within Prodigy to include the full URL

In some cases, it might be that I need to modify the default spaCy tokenization model (rather than correct in Prodigy), but in other cases, I might want to extend the suggested span to include additional tokens in Prodigy.

Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere.

Many thanks!

Phil

Hi! What you describe is definitely possible – it might just take some experimentation to find the best configuration that produces the most useful results. For example, whether to upate the model with complete or incomplete annotations, how to incorporate patterns (if at all) etc.

It probably makes sense to start off with a recipe like ner.correct that adds entities to the outgoing texts and lets you edit them manually, and then add the update functionality to it that updates the model in the loop. Essentially, all you need to add here is an update callback that calls nlp.update with the answers received back from the app. Here's a template recipe that shows how it works:

A few questions that you'll have to ask yourself and that your final workflow will depend on:

1. Update from complete gold-standard annotations or partial annotations

A text may have multiple entities of different types, so do you expect the annotation you send back to be complete? Or, phrased differently, should all unannotated tokens be considered "not part of an entity"? This changes the way you update the model.