Annotated dataset lost, what now?

Hi, I am a policy officer at a funding agency.

I used prodi.gy to annotate around 500 documents with multiple custom labels (20!), and subsequently created a custom NER model. Unfortunately I had to format my laptop, which resulted reinstalling prodi.gy. I realised that I have lost the annotated dataset. I had NER model saved somewhere else before formating the laptop.

In summary; I have the NER model based on the annotations, but not the annotations.

Can you please suggest possible steps to increase the efficiency of the NER model?
(I know that I can use the NER model to annotate the original documents within prodi.gy again and based on the annotations dataset build a better model, but I would like to search for other options.)

regards
Rahul

Aw, sorry to hear! The Prodigy database lives in your user home directory by default, so it sounds like that got lost in the formatting then. (In general, you can uninstall and re-install Prodigy without affecting your annotations and re-use the same existing database. But if there's a way you can auto-backup the .prodigy/prodigy.db file in the future, that'd probably be good.)

If you want to get your data back, this is a pretty good idea, actually! The NER model you trained on the data should get very high accuracy on the training examples. Maybe not 100%, but very high. So if you just run your model over the data, you should almost get your original annotations back :smiley: 500 documents is small enough that it shouldn't take you too long to review if you want to double-check the examples. So you could run your model over the original raw data wit ner.correct, correct the mistakes (which shouldn't be many), and you'll have your original data back. It shouldn't take you longer than a few hours, to be honest!